Police Department

It is the mission of the Garrettsville Police Department  to serve the public with courtesy, integrity and professionalism while being respectful and responsive to the populous we serve. The mission shall be carried out through the cooperation of our officers, other agencies and the community while maintaining the highest level of accountability.

GPD Services


Full-Time Officers:

901 Chief Timothy Christopher

904 Ptl. Christopher Dynys

906 Ptl. Timothy Vecchio


903 Sgt. Keith Whan (K-9 Handler)

905 Ptl. Emily Ahrens (School Resource Officer)

907 Ptl. Jeremiah Poole

K-9 Jack

K-9 Jack is a German Shepard that was born in the Czech Republic on March 28, 2014.  In March of 2015, K-9 Jack was brought to the United States by Von der Haus Gill Kennels in Wapakoneta Ohio.  K-9 Jack was selected by Chief Christopher and Sergeant Whan to be the next K-9 for the Village of Garrettsville.  Later that month, K-9 Jack and Sergeant Whan attended a 6-week training course at Von der Haus Kennel in Wapakoneta Ohio.  Upon completion of the training, they were certified by OPOTC (Ohio Police Officer Training Commission) and NAPCH (National Association of Professional Canine Handlers).  K-9 Jack is trained to locate narcotics (Methamphetamine, Heroin, Cocaine and Marijuana), perform building searches, area searches, tracking, evidence recovery, and apprehension.  During the time K-9 Jack and Sergeant Whan have been together as a team, they have logged over 1000 hours of training and have over 350 deployments. 



Our K-9 program is a vital asset to our department and plays a large role in keeping our great community safe.  For anybody wishing to help keep the K-9 program running strong, donations can be made to the Garrettsville Police K-9 Fund.

Part-Time Officers:

914 Ptl. Joshua Erb                          jerb914@gmail.com

915 Ptl. Steven Kumher         skumher915@gmail.com

916 Ptl. Derrick Pilarczyk     dpilarczy916@gmail.com


917 Ptl. Jeffrey Raymond   jeffreyraymond917@gmail.com

918 Ptl. Joshua Wilde                     jwilde918@gmail.com

951 Stephanie Tarr                                 (Administrative Assistant)

In Memory of:

Donovan Svab

John Brindo

Michael J. Adkins

K-9 Quando

K-9 Taz

Contact Information

Tim Christopher
Police Chief

8123 High Street 
Garrettsville, OH 44231

Emergency Phone:  911

Non-Emergency: 330-527-5631

Fax: 330-527-3129

Email: chief@garrettsville.org


Curfew Hours:

Ages 13 & Under – 9:30 PM
Ages 14-15 – 10:00 PM
Ages 16-18 – 11:00 PM

Contact Us: